Should I be Flattered or Angry?

Checking my referrer logs today I came across this link – Slank en Fit. Nice looking design if I say so myself!

Obviously these people are slimeballs – not only did they steal my design and HTML and CSS source, but they even stole my banner images! If you look at the source, they were not even smart enough to change the alt text on my banner which has the name of my site. Worse of all, they actually give themselves design credit at the bottom of the page!

With no e-mail links on the site, I guess I will have to contact the service provider and see if they will take the site down. I would be interested to hear if anybody else has any other suggestions.

9 Responses to “Should I be Flattered or Angry?”

  1. brian said on June 29th, 2004 at 3:53 pm

    I guess it would be flattering if the rip was executed well. How fitting that the site says designed by “steel”. That he did. At least change the colors and get your own images buddy.

  2. jaredchandler said on June 29th, 2004 at 5:36 pm

    here ya go (these two were inside the action of the form):

    daniel.van.sweevelt@telenet.be
    vranken.karim@telenet.be

    Honestly, if it were me… I’d just write a perl script to flood those mail addresses.

  3. John Dowdell said on June 29th, 2004 at 8:00 pm

    Sorry to hear of it… there’s pirated-sites.com, which is a “Hall of Shame” for similar practices… if they’re actually invoking content still stored on your server there’s the old rename/relink trick too. But most of all, please keep your overall faith in humanity, okay…? ;-)

  4. El Dodgy said on June 29th, 2004 at 8:33 pm

    Eh…they have a copyright line at the bottom of theirs!

  5. Nathan Pitman said on June 30th, 2004 at 12:59 am

    And the biggest sin of all, they ripped it and put it back together with Frontpage (Check the Frontpage comments in the source). Shocking. Well if eveyone that reads this blog sends a snotty email to those 2 addresses above, that might do it… :?

    :)

  6. Erik said on June 30th, 2004 at 5:19 am

    Refresh the page. Before the banner loads it clearly shows the text “DIgital Media Minute Banner”. That’s some poor theft there.

  7. Chuck MacQuarrie said on June 30th, 2004 at 9:38 am

    Unreal! I’ve never actually witnessed this before. If you find this really bothersome Jim, then perhaps you should contact the official Herbalife company site. This copy cat site here looks like an affiliate. I’m sure a massive international company like Herbalife will not tolerate it’s affiliates/members to down right steal other peoples designs. If you notify the proper people, these slackers will most likely be forced to change the look of their site.

  8. Chad Udell said on June 30th, 2004 at 12:48 pm

    I emailed the contacts and here was the there reply…

    “sorry about this ripping thing !!

     Did not know about it but we will take care of it and we will fired or new designer !!

     Sorry about it !! Excuse us !!

    Great’s”

  9. rune said on June 11th, 2006 at 2:34 pm

    Great job guys… Thank for you work…